LIST: Travellers from 11 African countries banned from UK over COVID-19

LIST: Travellers from 11 African countries banned from UK over COVID-19

Following a new coronavirus variant that has been identified in South Africa, the United Kingdom announced it will be imposing a ban on travellers entering the country from 11 African countries.

PAY ATTENTION: Join Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

Channels TV reports that the government has said that the ban which will be for an initial period of two weeks was taken in a bid to prevent the spread of the new COVID-19 variant.

COVID-19: 11 African countries banned from UK over South Africa strain (full list)

Travellers from eleven African countries have been banned from entering the UK.
Photo credit: Chris Ratcliffe
Source: Getty Images

Earlier, the federal government had rolled out new travel rules for passengers coming in from South Africa and the United Kingdom as a result of the discovery of a new variant of the virus in these countries.

The national coordinator of the Presidential Task Force (PTF), Dr. Sani Aliyu, said all passengers coming from both countries must use the Nigerian international travel portal to register.

Though Nigeria is excluded from the list, below are some of the African countries that have been banned from the United Kingdom:

Nigeria customs makes fresh announcement after border reopening

1. Namibia

2. Zimbabwe

3. Botswana

4. Eswatini

5. Zambia

6. Malawi

7. Lesotho

8. Mozambique

9. Angola

10. Seychelles

11. Mauritius

PAY ATTENTION: Get the Latest Nigerian News Anywhere 24/7. Spend less on the Internet!

Meanwhile, reported that the federal government said that just like many nations, it may be forced to impose a ban on travel to some parts of the world due to the new strain of COVID-19 which is rampant in the United Kingdom (UK).

This was revealed by the minister of information and culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, on Monday, December 21, in Abuja.

According to Mohammed, the new variant of the virus, both spreads and kills fasters after it has been contracted.

In a related development, the federal government, through the Presidential Task Force for COVID-19, has imposed new safety measures on persons entering the country with effect from Tuesday, December 29, 2020.

COVID-19: Southeast governor cries out over spike in infections

The PTF on its Facebook page on Tuesday announced that all travellers from the United Kingdom (UK) and South Africa must undergo COVID-19 tests and must be certified as free from the virus.

The protocols released by the PTF which was signed by its chairman, Boss Mustapha, who doubles as the sectary-general of the federation.

COVID-19: Is Nigeria ready for another lockdown | – on Legit TV

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *